What is Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga?

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, or simply Ashtanga, is one of the oldest and most dynamic styles of  Hatha Yoga. Hatha Yoga is a broad category that includes every modern style of yoga.

 

Ashtanga is more intensive than other styles of yoga because the asanas, or poses, flow into each other in a series of connected movements. Breathing is at the heart of the practise, so the rhythm of your breath leads the movement of your body as you flow smoothly from asana to asana.

 

Our practise comes from K. Pattabhi Jois, an Indian scholar who developed and taught the style at the Sanskrit College in Mysore (South India) from 1937 to 1973. His practices were learned from his guru Sri T. Krishnamacharya, who has been referred to as the father of modern yoga and became a centenarian before his death in 1989.

 

In India, life energy is known as "Prana", whereas in China, it is "Chi". The effects of yoga can be compared to the meridian theory of traditional Chinese medicine. In yoga, the energy channels in the body are called "Nadis", with "Granthis" (from the Sanskrit for ‘knot’) located along these channels.

 

Practicing Ashtanga yoga leads to the harmonization of the breath, the body, the entire nervous system and the mind. Through this practice a state of vitality and health can occur. The mind experiences calm and clarity, and the practitioner receives insight and growth on a spiritual and mental level. The asanas shape us physically, which allow the practitioner to be strengthened and flexible on a holistic level. With regular practice, yoga can activate the energy in your body and enable a state of flow.

 

At our studio in Berlin, we have developed a wide range of Ashtanga Yoga, Prenatal & Postnatal, as well as Restorative Yoga programs to meet the diverse range of personal and physical requirements in the modern world. Our space is designed for rest and relaxation, and with the classic asana sequence of Ashtanga Yoga we develop our students’ strength, flexibility and concentration, to allow them to relieve stress and tension and find a healthy balance in their everyday life.

©2020 Ashtanga Yogahome

Was ist Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga?

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga oder einfach Ashtanga ist einer der ältesten und dynamischsten Stile des Hatha Yoga. Hatha Yoga ist eine breite Kategorie, die jeden modernen Yoga-Stil umfasst.

Ashtanga ist intensiver als andere Yoga-Stile, da die Asanas oder Posen in einer Reihe miteinander verbundener Bewegungen ineinander fließen. Das Atmen steht im Mittelpunkt der Übung, daher führt der Rhythmus Ihres Atems die Bewegung Ihres Körpers, während Sie reibungslos von Asana zu Asana fließen.

Unsere Praxis stammt von K. Pattabhi Jois, einem indischen Gelehrten, der den Stil von 1937 bis 1973 am Sanskrit College in Mysore (Südindien) entwickelte und lehrte. Seine Praktiken wurden von seinem Guru Sri T. Krishnamacharya gelernt, auf den Bezug genommen wurde als Vater des modernen Yoga und wurde vor seinem Tod 1989 Hundertjähriger.

In Indien ist Lebensenergie als "Prana" bekannt, während es in China "Chi" ist. Die Wirkungen von Yoga können mit der Meridian-Theorie der traditionellen chinesischen Medizin verglichen werden. Im Yoga werden die Energiekanäle im Körper "Nadis" genannt, wobei sich "Granthis" (aus dem Sanskrit für "Knoten") entlang dieser Kanäle befindet.

Das Üben von Ashtanga Yoga führt zur Harmonisierung des Atems, des Körpers, des gesamten Nervensystems und des Geistes. Durch diese Praxis kann ein Zustand der Vitalität und Gesundheit auftreten. Der Geist erfährt Ruhe und Klarheit, und der Praktizierende erhält Einsicht und Wachstum auf spiritueller und mentaler Ebene. Die Asanas formen uns physisch, wodurch der Praktizierende auf ganzheitlicher Ebene gestärkt und flexibel wird. Durch regelmäßiges Üben kann Yoga die Energie in Ihrem Körper aktivieren und einen Flusszustand ermöglichen.

In unserem Studio in Berlin haben wir eine breite Palette von Ashtanga Yoga, Prenatal & Postnatal sowie Restorative Yoga Programmen entwickelt, um den vielfältigen persönlichen und körperlichen Anforderungen der modernen Welt gerecht zu werden. Unser Raum ist auf Ruhe und Entspannung ausgelegt. Mit der klassischen Asana-Sequenz des Ashtanga Yoga entwickeln wir die Kraft, Flexibilität und Konzentration unserer Schüler, damit sie Stress und Anspannung abbauen und ein gesundes Gleichgewicht in ihrem Alltag finden können.

©2020 Ashtanga Yogahome